Subject: 2016-2017 OCSMRM Young Investigator Awards Competition

Date: March 14, 2017

## Dear OCSMRM Colleagues and Trainees,

To encourage trainees to participate in the OCSMRM community and its activities, and to recognize their research accomplishments and contributions to the field of magnetic resonance in medicine, we have established three OCSMRM Young Investigator Awards that will be presented at the Annual OCSMRM meeting during the ISMRM conference in April of this year (2017) to be held in Hawaii.

The OCSMRM Young Investigator Awards competition is open to basic and clinical scientists/researchers at undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate, resident, and fellow levels who are working in MR research in academia and industry in either oversea or China. Non-student applicants must be within five (5) years of completion of their doctorate degree, as documented by a curriculum vita (CV) and letter of confirmation from their supervisor, mentor, or departmental head. All applicants are required to register their OCSMRM membership online (website opening soon) before the Annual OCSMRM meeting to qualify for the competition and award.

To be considered for the competition, the applicant should submit by email the following documents to Professors Xin Yu (xin.yu@case.edu) and Hanzhang Lu (hlu3@jhmi.edu) before midnight on April 3, 2017:

- A single paper or publication (PDF file) describing original work he or she has done
  in the field of MR in medicine. The publication should have been published or have
  been accepted for publication (please attach the acceptance letter) in an
  international journal after January 1, 2016. Publications that have been used for
  previous years' competitions will not be considered. The applicant must be the first
  or primary author of the work.
- The applicant's CV.
- A supporting letter from the senior or corresponding author of the publication, mentor, supervisor, or departmental head.
- Applicant must be a registered member of OCSMRM (see <a href="www.ocsmrm.org">www.ocsmrm.org</a> for 2016-2017 OCSMRM registration).

The applications will be reviewed and evaluated by the Young Investigator Awards Committee (Professors Xin Yu, Hanzhang Lu, Wei Chen, Xiaoliang Zhang, and Hua Guo). Winners will be selected on the basis of the scientific quality and originality of their publications, as well as their track record and commitment to MR research. Three winners (1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> place) will be announced and each will receive a certificate and prize during

the Annual OCSMRM Meeting (6:30-9:00 pm, April 26, 2017 in Room 316BC, Hawaii Convention Center; please see more details via OCSMRM website: <a href="https://www.ocsmrm.org">www.ocsmrm.org</a>).

Thanks for your consideration and support.

Ed X. Wu, PhD
President of OCSMRM

www.ocsmrm.org
Lam Woo Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering
The University of Hong Kong